Project Description

WEINIG App Suite

Digitization in the woodworking machine sector

1. Initial situation

Even in industries with a long tradition such as the woodworking trade, mega trends like digitization and automation do not go unnoticed. At the same time, digital services offer mechanical engineering companies in particular the opportunity to maintain close contact with customers even after the sale.

The WEINIG Group is a manufacturer of woodworking machines. Its portfolio covers the complete process chain from sawmills to end products such as windows and profile strips. In 2015, WEINIG released the first version of the App Suite. It offers end customers free functions such as general information on existing machinery, calculation tools such as angle and planing step calculators as well as an additional channel for support requests to the WEINIG Service. In addition, monitoring functions can be booked for a monthly fee. These make the current and historical machine status or the progress of production orders more transparent. This app was developed by an external service provider in 2015. It has been adapted and expanded regularly  in recent years.

  • Michael Weinig AG

  • Tauberbischofsheim

  • 2019

  • Digital customer app

„We were looking for a technology that would allow us to continuously develop our App Suite based on our customers’ needs and to follow a clear software architecture. This was supposed to make it possible for new applications and optimizations to be implemented in a quick yet structured manner by different developers.“

Jochen Ganz, Head of New Business & Innovation, WEINIG Group

2. Challenge

Since the app had been created in a proprietary way, it had been very difficult to integrate the desired new functions. Any changes were always time-consuming and costly. In the future, WEINIG does not want to have to call on the service provider for every change request. Rather, WEINIG wanted to be able to add as many new functions as possible and implement adjustments quickly and easily.

What´s more, the app had to be designed more modularly, which made role and rights management necessary. The required interfaces – for example to Salesforce – were supposed to be easy to integrate.

Low-code was supposed to put WEINIG in the position to create the required solutions largely autonomously. Any advantages that low-code platforms bring with them were supposed to be used for the further development of the app.

3. Solution

On the part of Simplifier, the app was rebuilt in its essential functions. In the course of this the user interface was modernized and the navigation was made much clearer. Another advantage of the new App Suite is the simplified user administration. This makes it possible to offer a demo version and to assign individual app functions individually to each app account. The assignment between the app account and the customer and machine inventory data is done via Salesforce.

A WEINIG software architect was involved in the process and trained in the essential simplifier features. Thus, he is now able to implement the applications required by WEINIG himself. In this way, the growing customer requirements can be met even better.

“With Simplifier, we can not only create apps quickly by configuring and clicking together, but also intervene directly in the source code at any time to implement more complex features.”

Christoph Ruckstetter, Software architect, WEINIG Tauberbischofsheim

WEINIG App Suite

The viaFunctions of the WEINIG App Suite make it possible to keep track of the production of your own machines  – worldwide and in real time:

  • viaMonitor (status monitoring and evaluations)

  • viaNotify (alarm and message monitoring)

  • viaOrder (order details and progress)

  • viaMaintain (overview of upcoming maintenance)

  • viaCondition (condition monitoring of machine elements)

Moreover, the app offers a customer-oriented service area. You can quickly and easily contact a WEINIG expert by e-mail or telephone or send messages directly from the app. In addition, there is an overview of the respective WEINIG machine park for each customer, including the appropriate contact persons.

In addition, the App Suite has helpful calculation functions such as angle calculator, planing step calculator or a residual length calculator for edge banding.

The app in detail

4. Results

WEINIG has a future-proof technological advantage thanks to the low-code platform Simplifier. Thus, WEINIG can save both time and money, since the required applications can be developed much faster due to the prefabricated elements of Simplifier and no more highly paid external service providers are required. In addition, quality is maintained through tested programming codes.

This allows the mechanical engineering specialist to set itself apart from the competition by being able to add new functions to its app as quickly as possible and independently. WEINIG was able to present this approach at Ligna 2019 (the world’s leading trade fair for woodworking and wood processing) in Hanover.

The WEINIG App Suite is available as a stand-alone app for iOS and Android, and as a browser application at www.weinig.app

5. Outlook

Through continuous further developments in the WEINIG App Suite, WEINIG would like to make everyday work in the woodworking industry easier in the future and thus also be an even stronger partner for the customer after the sale of the machines. In addition, the low-code platform Simplifier is also used internally to optimize process flows, which is no problem thanks to the role and rights management already implemented.

It is also possible to continuously add new functions that make the daily work of customers easier.

CREATE YOUR OWN SOLUTIONS

Create your own applications fast and efficiently based on low-code.
Sign up now for our free Simplifier demo version and bring your company into the digital world of tomorrow.

Start now

Project Description

WEINIG App Suite

Digitalisierung im Holzbearbeitungsmaschinenbereich

1. Ausgangssituation

Auch in Branchen mit viel Tradition wie dem Holzhandwerk bleiben Megatrends wie Digitalisierung und Automatisierung nicht unbemerkt. Gleichzeitig bieten digitale Services gerade Maschinenbauunternehmen die Chance, auch nach dem Verkauf einen engen Kontakt mit den Kunden aufrechtzuerhalten.

Die WEINIG Gruppe ist ein Hersteller von Holzbearbeitungsmaschinen. Sie deckt mit ihrem Portfolio die komplette Prozesskette vom Sägewerk bis zu Endprodukten wie Fenster und Profilleisten ab. Im Jahr 2015 veröffentlichte WEINIG die erste Version der App Suite. Diese bietet den Endkunden kostenfreie Funktionen wie allgemeine Informationen zum bestehenden Maschinenpark, Berechnungstools wie Winkel- und Hobelschrittrechner sowie einen zusätzlichen Kanal für Support-Anfragen an den WEINIG Service. Darüber hinaus sind für einen monatlichen Betrag Monitoring-Funktionen buchbar, welche den aktuellen und historischen Maschinenstatus oder den Fortschritt von Fertigungsaufträgen transparenter werden lassen. Diese App wurde 2015 von einem externen Dienstleister entwickelt und in den letzten Jahren regelmäßig angepasst und erweitert.

  • Michael Weinig AG

  • Tauberbischofsheim

  • 2019

  • Digitale Kunden-App

„Wir haben nach einer Technologie gesucht, mit der wir unsere App Suite kontinuierlich anhand von Kundenwünschen weiter entwickeln, und dabei einer klaren Softwarearchitektur folgen können. Diese sollte es ermöglichen, neue Applikationen und Optimierungen von unterschiedlichen Entwicklern schnell und dennoch strukturiert umsetzen zu lassen.“

Jochen Ganz, Leiter der Unternehmenseinheit New Business & Innovation in der Weinig Gruppe

2. Herausforderung

Da die App proprietär erstellt wurde, war es bis dato sehr schwierig, die gewünschten neuen Funktionen zu integrieren, da jegliche Änderungen immer mit einem hohen Zeitaufwand und enormen Kosten verbunden waren. WEINIG möchte künftig nicht für jeden Change Request den Dienstleister in Anspruch nehmen müssen, sondern in der Lage sein, möglichst viele neue Funktionen hinzufügen zu können und Anpassungen schnell sowie unkompliziert umsetzen.

Darüber hinaus sollte die App modularer gestaltet werden, was ein Rollen- und Rechtemanagement notwendig machte. Die benötigten Schnittstellen – beispielsweise zu Salesforce – sollten einfach integrierbar sein.

Mit Low-Code wollte WEINIG in die Lage versetzt werden, weitgehend autonom die benötigten Lösungen zu erstellen. Jegliche Vorteile, die Low-Code Plattformen mit sich bringen, sollten dabei für die Weiterentwicklung der App genutzt werden.

3. Lösung

Seitens Simplifier wurde die App in ihren wesentlichen Funktionen nachgebaut. Im Zuge dessen wurde die Benutzeroberfläche modernisiert und die Navigation bedeutend übersichtlicher gestaltet. Ein weiterer Vorteil der neuen App Suite ist die vereinfachte Nutzerverwaltung. Diese ermöglicht es, eine Demoversion anzubieten sowie einzelne App-Funktionen individuell jedem App-Account zuweisen zu können. Die Zuordnung zwischen App-Account und den Kunden- und Maschinenbestandsdaten geschieht via Salesforce.

Ein WEINIG-Softwarearchitekt wurde in den Prozess miteinbezogen und in den wesentlichen Simplifier-Features geschult. Somit ist dieser nun befähigt, die von WEINIG benötigten Anwendungen selbst umzusetzen. Auf diese Weise wird man den wachsenden Kundenanforderungen noch besser gerecht.

„Mit  Simplifier können wir nicht nur durch Konfiguration und Zusammenklicken schnell Apps erstellen, sondern auch jederzeit direkt in den Quellcode eingreifen, um auch komplexere Features umsetzen zu können.“

Christoph Ruckstetter, Softwarearchitekt, WEINIG Tauberbischofsheim

WEINIG App Suite

Die viaFunktionen der WEINIG App Suite ermöglichen es, weltweit und in Echtzeit die Produktion der eigenen Maschinen im Überblick zu behalten:

  • viaMonitor (Status-Monitoring und Auswertungen)

  • viaNotify (Alarm- und Meldungsmonitoring)

  • viaOrder (Auftragsdetails und Fortschrittverlauf)

  • viaMaintain (Überblick über anstehende Wartungen)

  • viaCondition (Zustandsüberwachung von Maschinenelementen)

Darüber hinaus bietet die App einen kundenorientierten Servicebereich. Es kann schnell und einfach Kontakt zu einem WEINIG-Experten per E-Mail oder Telefon aufgenommen werden oder Nachrichten direkt aus der App versendet werden. Außerdem gibt es für jeden Kunden eine Übersicht über den jeweiligen WEINIG-Maschinenparks, inklusive der passenden Ansprechpartner.

Zusätzlich verfügt die App Suite über hilfreiche Berechnungsfunktionen wie z.B. Winkelrechner, Hobelschrittrechner oder einen Restlängenrechner für Kantenanleimer.

Die App im Detail

4. Ergebnisse

WEINIG verfügt durch die Low-Code Plattform Simplifier über einen zukunftssicheren Technologievorteil. So spart WEINIG Zeit und Geld, da die benötigten Anwendungen aufgrund der vorgefertigten Elemente von Simplifier wesentlich schneller entwickelt werden können und keine hochbezahlten externen Dienstleister mehr vonnöten sind. Zudem wird die Qualität durch geprüfte Programmiercodes hochgehalten.

Somit kann sich der Maschinenbau-Spezialist vom Wettbewerb abheben, indem er schnellstmöglich selbständig neue Funktionen zu seiner App hinzufügen kann. Diesen Ansatz konnte WEINIG bei der Ligna 2019 (Weltleitmesse für Holzbe- und -verarbeitung) in Hannover präsentieren.

Die WEINIG App Suite ist als Stand-Alone-App im Apple  App-Store für iOS und Android erhältlich sowie unter www.weinig.app als Browser-Anwendung verfügbar

5. Ausblick

WEINIG möchte auch in Zukunft den Arbeitsalltag in der Holzverarbeitung durch stetige Erweiterungen in der WEINIG App Suite erleichtern und somit auch nach dem Verkauf der Maschinen ein noch stärkerer Partner für den Kunden sein. Darüber hinaus soll die Low-Code Plattform Simplifier auch intern für die Optimierung von Prozessabläufen verwendet werden.Dank des bereits umgesetzten Rollen- und Rechtemanagements stellt dies kein Problem dar.

Darüber hinaus ist man in der Lage, kontinuierlich neue Funktionen, die den Arbeitsalltag der Kundschaft erleichtern, hinzuzufügen.

CREATE YOUR OWN SOLUTIONS

Create your own applications fast and efficiently based on low-code.
Sign up now for our free Simplifier demo version and bring your company into the digital world of tomorrow.

Start now